Upcoming Events

Open Modal

AARP Community Challenge Grant Check Presentation Is Today In Manning

Photo (l to r) Ron Reischl, Main Street Manning; Anthony Carroll, Associate State Director, Advocacy; State Senator, Mark Segebart; Mayor Harvey Dales; Main Street Manning Design Committee Chair, Marsha Clausen; Main Street Manning Executive Director, Sarah Puck; and Chris Reis, design engineer from Puck Custom Enterprises


Early last week, the AARP announced that Manning was one of only four Iowa communities to receive a portion of $1.3 million in funds to be distributed through 129 Community Challenge grants nationwide. A special check presentation to Main Street Manning for the $5,000 award to be used for decorative lighting on the sidewalks of Main Street is to be held at 11 a.m. today (Monday) outside the Manning Plaza. Iowa 6th District Senator, Mark Segebart, and Manning Mayor, Harvey Dales, will be present at the ceremony. “There are so many communities across Iowa working to develop short and long-term solutions to delivering a range of transportation, mobility and housing options in our local area, and to create vibrant public places for all to enjoy,” says AARP Iowa State Director, Brad Anderson. “We’re excited that these challenge grants will provide four Iowa communities the opportunity to enhance their infrastructure and provide unique, age-friendly opportunities for residents and visitors.” Avoca, Keokuk and Woodbine have also been selected from the nearly 1,600 applications AARP received from non-profits and government entities. Now in its second year, the Challenge Grant program is a part of the Livable Communities initiative that strives to make communities great places to live for residents of all ages.

Recommended Posts