Small Community In Pocahontas County To Receive Keep Iowa Beautiful Award

The Keep Iowa Beautiful Board of Trustees recently announced their 2017 annual award winners. These individuals, organizations and communities across Iowa are being recognized for enhancing the beauty, cleanliness and attractiveness of the state. The City of Varina, which sits about 50 minutes north of Carroll, has been named the recipient of the Robert D. Ray Community Award for Excellence. The town of only about 68 residents has gained the board’s attention as a Hometown Pride community with a visionary spirit, and according to board chair, Miriam Erickson Brown, they are an example of how “A more attractive community improves the economic vitality and cultural climate where we live and work.” The awards will be presented by Gov. Kim Reynolds Tuesday, March 20 at 1:30 p.m. at the State Capitol.