Upcoming Events

Open Modal

2023 CMT Music Awards: See the full list of winners

The CMT Music Awards took place on Sunday, April 2nd at the Moody Center in Austin, Texas. The ceremony was hosted by Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, who were both nominees and performers during the broadcast.

Kane and wife Katelyn Brown made history by becoming the first husband-and-wife duo to win the ‘Video of the Year’ award for their 2022 song “Thank God,” also marking the first time each of them have won in the category.

Rapper and country singer Jelly Roll dominated the evening, winning all three categories in which he was nominated: Male Video of the Year, Breakthrough Male Video of the Year, and CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year.

Lainey Wilson, the most-nominated artist at the 2023 show with four noms, earned the award for Collaborative Video of the Year for “Wait in the Truck,” her duet with Hardy, and also won Female Video of the Year.

Carrie Underwood earned two more nominations and was a performer at the ceremony. Underwood is already the most awarded artist in CMT history with 25 awards, but did not take any awards home on Sunday night.

The ceremony also featured performances by Gwen Stefani, LeAnn Rimes, Keith Urban and Alanis Morissette, who made her CMT debut with a performance that celebrated the 10-year anniversary of the “CMT Next Women of Country.” In addition, country music icon Shania Twain received the 2023 “CMT Equal Play Award,” and Stevie Ray Vaughan and Lynyrd Skynyrd were honored with tribute performances by various artists.

Editorial credit: Debby Wong / Shutterstock.com

Recommended Posts