Upcoming Events

Open Modal

17 Students From Five Local Schools Earn All-State Speech Nominations

The Iowa High School Speech Association (IHSSA) has announced the All-State nominations, which include 17 students from five local schools following this past weekend’s individual events state competition. Seven Carroll High School (CHS) performers earned All-State nods: Sydney Bellinghausen, Maddie Parrott, Joewie Heithoff, Joe Kimball, Lydia Meiners, Sophia Polking, and Brooke Reiling. Denison-Schleswig also earned seven all-state nods for Maite Arreola, Diego Cid, Emily Espinoza, Shelby Kastner, Ethan Olsen, and Danny Saldana. Two students from Kuemper Catholic, Logan Rial, and Laura Steinkamp, were recognized for their outstanding performances, while Audubon’s Ava Slater and Greene County’s Bella Linberg also received nominations. The complete list of local students and the field they were nominated in is included below.



Sydney Bellinghausen: Spontaneous Speaking (Performing)

Maddie Parrott Spontaneous Speaking (Performing)

Joewie Heithoff: After Dinner Speaking (Performing)

Joe Kimball: After Dinner Speaking (Performing)

Lydia Meiners: Storytelling (Performing)

Sophia Polking: Acting (Performing)

Brooke Reiling: Improvisational Acting (Performing)



Maite Arreola: Original Oratory (Performing)

Diego Cid: Expository Address (Performing)

Emily Espinoza: Prose (Performing)

Shelby Kastner: Solo Musical Theatre (Performing)

Ethan Olsen: Storytelling (Performing)

Danny Saldana: Radio News (Performing), Prose (Non-Performing)


Kuemper Catholic

Logan Rial: Expository Address (Performing)

Laura Steinkamp: Solo Musical Theatre (Performing)



Ava Slater: Prose (Performing)


Greene County

Bella Linberg: Prose (Performing)

Recommended Posts