Eight Local Communities Recognized By IDPH And CDC For Excellence In Water Fluoridation

The Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) has recognized eight local communities for their longstanding dedication to maintaining appropriate fluoride levels in their water supplies. Audubon, Carroll, Denison, Glidden, Guthrie County, Jefferson, Manilla and Manning were all presented with the Water Fluoridation Quality Award from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Fluoride is added to drinking water and is proven to be effective at preventing tooth decay. The award is presented to communities for achieving this goal. More than 1,600 communities in 30 states received the Water Fluoridation Quality Award, including 107 in Iowa. For more information on fluoridation efforts in your county or town, follow the link included with this story on our website.