Applications For Local Ag Scholarship Fund Are Now Available

Carroll County residents who are pursuing a post-secondary education in an ag-related field are invited to apply for the Chamber of Commerce and Carroll County Cattleman’s Association scholarships. For the past 31 years of the Carroll County Agricultural Scholarship Fund, generous donations from the Carroll-area businesses and the Carroll County Cattlemen are combined with proceeds from a special 1987 livestock auction and then used to support the future of agriculture in our area. Applications are available through high school counselors and at the Carroll Chamber of Commerce Office. These must be returned to that office by Wednesday, March 13. Last year’s winners were both from Carroll High School. Lauren Tidgren is studying animal science and pre-veterinary medicine at Iowa State University and Nathan Vonname is majoring in ag science and animal science studies at Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) in Ankeny.