Annual Cy-Hawk Series Competition Starts Today

For eight consecutive years, the Iowa Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board have partnered with Learfield in sponsoring the annual Cy-Hawk Series. This competition counts every regular season game, match or meet between the rivalry schools, Iowa State University (ISU) and the University of Iowa (UI), providing two points to the school for wins in all sports but football, which receives three. Points are also distributed on the academic side, one for the schools when their graduate rate for student athletes is above the student body rate. The winner is then announced at the conclusion of the school year. This year’s competition officially starts today (Friday) with the universities going head-to-head in soccer at 7 p.m. in Ames. This is followed on Saturday with the annual rivalry football game, kicking off at 4 p.m. in Iowa City. It was a tight race in the 2017-18 school year, with ISU taking home the trophy on a 14 to 13 win over the University of Iowa. Since the competition began in 2004, Iowa State has won seven times, while the University of Iowa has been victorious six. The 2015-16 season ended in a tie at 12 all.