Iowa Secretary Of Ag Candidate Forum In Denison Next Wednesday

The Crawford and Harrison County Corn Growers Associations have announced they will be hosting an Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Candidate Forum on Wednesday, May 23. The two hour event, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Boulders Conference Center in Denison, will provide an opportunity for the six candidates to answer questions in a panel discussion. Those six candidates include Republicans: farmer and former President of the Iowa and American Soybean Associations, Ray Gaesser; farmer and former Iowa State University Extension Watershed Specialist, Chad Ingels; farmer and former President of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Craig Lang; current Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, Mike Naig; and farmer and Iowa State Senator, Dan Zumbach. There is only one Democratic candidate, farmer, crop insurance agent and former USDA official for Tom Vilsack, Tim Gannon. The discussion will be moderated by veteran farm broadcaster and former Iowa Corn District 4 field manager, Bruce Gaarder. The forum is free and open to the public.