Listen Now
Listen Live To Kick 106.7 Listen Live To 93.7 KKRL Listen Live To 1380 KCIM

Video Interviews
Heard On-Air
Jim Copeland's Cubs Blog
Sports News
Central's De Waard named head coach for Mexico game
PELLA - Central College defensive coordinator Don De Waard will serve as the head coach of Team Stars and Stripes for the third straight year in the sixth annual Tazon de Estrellas (Bowl of the Stars) football game in Puebla, Mexico Saturday, Dec. 20.
2014-15 Women's Basketball Press Conference - October 15, 2014
Laker Soccer Teams to Host Last Regular Season Match

Iowa Lakes men’s and women’s soccer will host their last regular season match this Saturday, Oct. 25 at the Spencer Soccerplex. The men’s game starts at 2 p.m., with the women to follow at 4 p.m. 

The men, who are 8-4-1 overall, and 6-4-1 in the conference, will look to continue their strong play with wins over Marshalltown and NIACC in the past 10 days. 

Mohammad Awadallah leads the Laker men with 11 goals, while goal keeper Alan Guadarrama has 54 saves at a .730 save percentage. Ndayingiye Juste leads the Scott men with 9 goals. The Scott Community College men are 2-13 overall and 2-9 in the conference. 

This will be the women’s first game since they went down to the number 1 ranked Reivers from Iowa Western. 

The Laker women, who are 3-4 overall, and 3-4 in the conference, are led by Sophomore, Kelsey Tonge, who has 9 goals on the year, while goal keeper Jurnee Reveles has 98 saves at a .803 save percentage. Miranda Holle leads Scott with 33 goals on the year. The Scott Community College women are 8-5-1 overall and 2-5 in the conference.

This is the last regular season match for both the Laker men and women. The Iowa Community College Athletic Conference Region XI Tournament starts next Tuesday with the women hosting a first round match. It continues Wednesday when the men host their match. Opponents are to be announced after action this weekend. 

Cyclones Handle South Dakota, Improve to 2-1
Cyclones Handle South Dakota, Improve to 2-1
Panthers Prepared for Sat. Dual Against USD
CEDAR FALLS, IA - The University of Northern Iowa swimming and diving team is prepped and ready for this Saturday's dual match against the South Dakota Coyotes.
No Message From NW Missouri State
No Message From NW Missouri State
Volleyball drops pair on first day in Illinois
The Simpson volleyball team dropped both of its matches on the first day of the Linda Slagell Dig for the Cure, losing to Wisconsin-Platteville and Wheaton (Ill.) by identical 3-1 scores.
Central men's golf team enters national rankings
PELLA - After a one-year absence, the Central College men's golf team has vaulted into the No. 16 spot in the Golf Coaches Association of America Division III national poll.
Drake vs. Davidson
Iowa Lakes Wrestling Team Releases Schedule

Iowa Lakes Head Wrestling Coach Cody Alesch has released the schedule for the 2014-2015 season. The Lakers compete in the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) Region XI conference which is made up of the following colleges: Ellsworth, Iowa Western, NIACC, Iowa Central, Minnesota West, Rochester, Itasca, Ridgewater, and Northland. 

The Lakers start with an intra-squad match Friday, Oct. 24 at 6 p.m. on the Estherville Campus. 

The first semester is highlighted by back to back home duals against Iowa Central on Dec. 3 and Iowa Western on Dec. 4. Both duals start at 7 p.m.  on Thursday, Dec. 4. Estherville Lincoln Central High School will be wrestling Humboldt High School, both strong programs, at 5:30 p.m. in a curtain raiser to the Iowa Western dual. 

Head Coach Cody Alesch is very pleased to have such high quality programs in the Laker gym. 

“These two duals will both be exciting nights for Iowa Lakes wrestling as both programs will bring very good squads into the Laker Gym,” said Coach Alesch. 

To start the second semester, the Lakers will travel to Fort Wayne, Ind. on Jan. 9 and 10 to compete in the National Dual Championships with the top NJCAA programs in the country.

Throughout the season, the Lakers will compete in many open tournaments including the Kaye Young Open, UNI Open, and BV Open. 

The ICCAC Regional Tournament is held Sunday, Feb. 15 in Worthington, Minn. The National Championships held in Des Moines on Feb. 27 and 28.  

The Lakers return National Champion, Freddie Rodriguez, at 125 pounds, along with two other national qualifiers.

Coach Alesch said, “It’s great to have the Regional Tournament so close again, especially with the National Tournament in Des Moines as well. Our guys have been working hard on the mat in preparation and we are excited to see where this team can go!” 

Cyclones Fall to No. 15 Kansas
LAWRENCE, Kansas -The Iowa State soccer team (6-10-0, 0-6-0) fell 2-1 to the No. 15 Kansas Jayhawks (15-3-0, 5-2-0) Friday night at the Rock Chalk Park in Lawrence.
UNI Moves Past South Dakota State, 3-1
The University of Northern Iowa volleyball squad recorded a non-conference win over the South Dakota State Jackrabbits on Tuesday night at Frost Arena. The Panthers won by set scores of 25-19, 25-20, 22-25, 25-22.
Storm look to snap three-game skid Saturday against Loras
After losing three games in a row, the Simpson football team looks to get back on the winning track when Loras visits Buxton Stadium on Saturday, Oct. 25.
Two Central women's tennis players receive all-conference honors
PELLA - Central College juniors Angie Allgood and Megan Davis were named to the all-Iowa Conference doubles team Thursday, while Allgood also received the honor for her singles play.
Men's Soccer v. Creighton
sports schedule
most popular

Podcasts Apple Android RSS Feeds Social Media Listen Live